Select Page

Here’s a step-by-step guide on how to register as a patient or a caregiver.

To become a patient:

Current list of qualifying conditions

  • Cancer
  • Glaucoma
  • HIV+/AIDS
  • Hepatitis C
  • ALS (Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis)
  • Tourette’s Syndrome
  • Crohn’s Disease
  • Ulcerative Colitis
  • PTSD (Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder)
  • Severe Arthritis
  • Fibromyalgia
  • Alzheimer’s Disease
  • Cachexia or Wasting Syndrome
  • Peripheral Neuropathy
  • Intractable Pain — Defined as pain that has not responded to ordinary medications, treatment, or surgical measures for more than six (6) months
  • Severe Nausea
  • Seizures including without limitation those characteristic of epilepsy
  • Severe and persistent muscle spasms including without limitation those characteristic of multiple sclerosis
  • and any other medical condition or its treatment approved by the Department of Health

Step one:

Print and complete the Arkansas Department of Health’s Medical Marijuana Registry Patient Application.

Step two:

Print the ADH’s Medical Marijuana Physician Written Certification and complete the Patient Information section.

Step three:

Schedule an appointment with your MD or DO.  During your visit present the Medical Marijuana Physician Written Certification for your doctor to complete and sign. This is NOT a prescription, your doctor’s signature is simply certifying you have one of the qualifying conditions.

*If your doctor refuses to certify this document ask for copies of your medical history proving your diagnosis and schedule an appointment with one of the doctors listed on the Arkansas Cannabis Industry Association’s doctor locator.

Step four:

Register on the ADH website.

Upload your signed certification, MMJ registry application, and Arkansas driver’s license or Arkansas issued photo ID using a cell phone or scanner. You will need a credit or debit card to pay the $50 annual fee online.

Step five:

You will receive snail-mail confirmation as soon as the state accepts your documents.  Cards will be available for printing from ADH website one month prior to dispensaries opening.  You will need to renew your card every year.

To become a patient caregiver:

To qualify to become a patient caregiver in Arkansas you must first meet the following basic criteria:

  • Be 21 years of age or older or be a parent of a minor patient.
  • Have not been convicted of an excluded felony offense.
  • Be an Arkansas resident with proof of residency. (AR Driver’s License or AR State ID card).
  • State law prohibits members of Arkansas National Guard and the United States Military from obtaining a registry ID card.

Step one:

Complete a Medical Marijuana Registry Caregiver Application for each patient you will be caregiving for.

Step two:

Get a copy of the Medical Marijuana Physician Written Certification for each patient you will be caregiving for.

Step three:

Non-parents/guardians are required to a pass criminal background check to become a caregiver in Arkansas. Call Toll Free 1-833-214-8619 to request a Criminal History Review Application and fingerprint card.  There is a  $37 fee.

Step Four:

Register on the ADH website, upload all completed Medical Marijuana Registry Caregiver Applications, copies of Medical Marijuana Physician Written Certifications, and your Arkansas driver’s license or Arkansas state ID.  You will need a debit or credit card for the $50 fee.

Step five:

You will receive snail-mail confirmation as soon as the state accepts your documents. Cards will be available for printing from ADH website one month prior to dispensaries opening.  You will need to renew your card every year.